Announcement from Hypatia’s Board of Directors and Task Force Co-Chairs

Task Force

In November 2017, we announced the formation of a Task Force to address a number of governance issues at Hypatia. The Co-Chairs, as stated then, are Sally Haslanger (MIT), Serene Khader (Brooklyn/CUNY), and Yannik Thiem (Villanova). We are very pleased now to announce the appointment of the additional Task Force Members:

María Acosta Lopez (DePaul)
Teresa Blankmeyer Burke (Gallaudet)
Susan Brison (Dartmouth)
Kim Q. Hall (Appalachian State)
Amy Marvin (U of Oregon)
Camisha Russell (U of Oregon)
Naomi Scheman (U of Minnesota, emerita)
Kris Sealey (Fairfield)
Krushil Watene (Massey)
Audrey Yap (U of Victoria)

The board would like to thank all the Task Force members for agreeing to take on the important and challenging work that lies ahead for Hypatia.

Search Committee

We are also pleased to announce that Kim Hall (Appalachian State) has agreed to chair the Search Committee for the next editorial team of Hypatia. We are very grateful to Kim for her willingness to take on this crucial task. Inquiries about the search should be directed to Kim at Please circulate widely the Call of Nominations for a new editorial team. Other Search Committee members are: Ann Garry (Cal State Los Angeles), Desirée Melton (Notre Dame of Maryland), and Paula Moya (Stanford).

Non-Profit Board

As the Task Force undertakes the work of restructuring, the Hypatia Non-Profit Board of Directors believes that now is the right time for its members—Elizabeth Anderson (Michigan), Leslie Francis (Utah), Heidi Grasswick (Middlebury), Miriam Solomon (Temple), and Lisa Tessman (Binghamton)—to step aside and let others guide Hypatia through this very important transitional phase.

We are very pleased to announce that Linda Martín Alcoff (CUNY), Talia Mae Bettcher (Cal State Los Angeles), Helen Longino (Stanford), Jacqueline Scott (Loyola), and Nancy Tuana (Penn State) have agreed to serve on the new Board of Directors, effective February 18th 2018. Ann Garry (Cal State Los Angeles), representing the interim editorial team, will continue to serve on the board as an ex officio board member for the duration of her term as Interim Editor. We are deeply grateful to Linda, Talia, Helen, Jacqueline, Nancy, and Ann for their commitment to Hypatia and their willingness to serve Hypatia in this capacity.


The outgoing Board would like to thank all of those who have served Hypatia in various capacities over the last several years, including former Editor Sally Scholz and former HRO Editor Shelley Wilcox, and former Associate Editors Linda Martín Alcoff, Ásta (Sveinsdóttir), Ann Cahill, Kim Hall, Cressida Heyes, Karen Jones, Kyoo Lee, Mariana Ortega, Alison Wylie, and George Yancy.

We would also like to thank Ann Garry, Serene Khader, and Alison Stone who have taken on the interim editorship of Hypatia and will continue in this role until July 2018.

Throughout its history, Hypatia has been built through the labor and commitment of those who care deeply about the development of feminist philosophy and the broader feminist community. We are very grateful to all who have worked so very hard for so many years to make Hypatia the highly respected journal that it is today, and to those who have continually called upon it to embrace and embody not only values of scholarly integrity, but also core feminist values. And we are thankful to those who have stepped forward to continue that mission.